Laboratory of the quality of metals, alloys and casts: the study of structure, physical and mechanical properties, defects and causes of reject

Production of quality casts or other non-ferrous blanks and alloys cannot be imagined without both quality control of the produced casts, and quality control of raw material (alloys). The same is true for companies operating in the market for production and sale of non-ferrous metals and alloys. They must constantly control the quality of produced and sold products.

Even 10-15 years ago the “customers” imposed only the requirements for compliance with the declared chemical composition to the purchased alloy, but today this is not enough. Since the process of producing high-quality casts or other semi-finished products directly depends not only on the chemical composition of the initial alloy, but also on the amount of non-metallic inclusions, gas saturation, etc., the “customers” more often require that the alloy manufacturers strictly control the alloy structure.

Today, such “stringent” demands are also imposed upon finished casting (for example, availability of hard non-metallic spots and gas porosity in a cast batch at machining stage leads to the whole batch rejection, which undoubtedly leads to large financial losses for a manufacturer).

Unfortunately, up to date not all manufacturers of casts and alloys have at their disposal modern research equipment and qualified specialists knowing the modern research methods.

In our quality laboratory we offer comprehensive or partial investigations of the structure and physical and mechanical properties of metals, alloys and casts as follows:

  1. Precision determination of chemical composition.
  2. Structure investigations
  3. X-ray diffraction phase analysis.
  4. Scanning electron microscopy.
  5. Mechanical tests.
  6. Measurement of other physical properties.
  7. Analysis of cast defects and their causes.
  8. Recommendations to improve the quality of alloys or casts.

We have highly qualified specialists to conduct researches and use modern methods and devices.

An example of our work is given below.

This is a part of the results of metallographic investigations of samples of aluminum casting alloys taken after the processing of melts with various fluxes in plant conditions at one of the largest foundries in Ukraine. Carl Zeizz Axiovert 40MAT optical microscope (Germany) with a digital image registration was used for metallographic investigations. The image of alloy structures was obtained with magnification of 43´, 215´ and 430´. Samples of АК10М2Н alloy were selected after melt processing with various refining fluxes. The alloy was melted in a gas reverberatory melting furnace. Fig. 1 illustrates microstructures of alloys: 1.1. – processing with MnCl salt; 1.2. – processing with a flux by CIS manufacture; 1.3. – processing with Probat Fluss Al 224 flux (Germany).

 Sample 1.1, increase in 43×  Sample 1.2, increase in 43×

 Sample 1.3, increase in 43×

 Sample 1.1, increase in 215×

 Sample 1.2, increase in 215×

 Sample 1.3, increase in 215×

The conducted investigations clearly demonstrate the results of processing with refining fluxes of various types to remove non-metallic inclusions (black spots in the image of microstructures). The investigations were conducted to improve the melt purification technology to reduce rejects, improve the machining quality, and increase the strength and ductility of the cast. It was demonstrated that Probat Fluss Al 224 flux (Germany) is the most effective. Our experience and modern research methods will help you to improve the quality of products and reduce costs.

Copyright© 1999-2018
LTD "Engineering company – SAS"

03142, Ukraine, Kiev, Semashko str. 13, of.105, 106
phone/fax +38 (044) 424-25-03 / +38 (044) 423-82-99
e-mail: info@sasua.com.ua

Получение качественных отливок или других заготовок из цветных металлов и сплавов невозможно представить себе как без контроля качества полученных отливок, так и без контроля качества исходного сырья (сплавов). Также и компании, работающие на рынке производства и продажи цветных металлов и сплавов должны постоянно контролировать качество производимой и реализуемой продукции.

Если еще 10-15 лет назад к приобретаемому сплаву «заказчики» предъявляли только требования на соответствие заявленному химическому составу, то сегодня этого уже недостаточно. Поскольку процесс получения качественного литья или др. полуфабрикатов напрямую зависит не только от химического состава исходного сплава, но и от количества неметаллических включений, газонасыщенности и т.п., то «заказчики» все чаще требуют от производителей сплавов тщательного контроля структуры сплавов.

Не менее “жесткие” требования сейчас предъявляют и к готовому литью (к примеру, наличие твердых неметаллических включений и газовая пористость в партии отливок на этапе механической обработки приводит к браку всей партии, что, несомненно, ведет к большим финансовым потерям изготовителя).

К сожалению, на сегодняшний день далеко не все производители отливок и сплавов имеют в своем распоряжении современное исследовательское оборудование и квалифицированных специалистов владеющих современными методиками исследования.

В своей лаборатории качества мы предлагаем комплексные или частичные исследования структуры и физико-механических свойств металлов, сплавов и отливок:

  1. Прецизионное определение химического состава.
  2. Металлографические исследования.
  3. Рентгеноструктурный фазовый анализ.
  4. Сканирующая электронная микроскопия.
  5. Механические испытания.
  6. Измерение других физических свойств.
  7. Анализ дефектов отливок и причин их возникновения.
  8. Рекомендации по улучшению качества сплавов или отливок.

Мы располагаем высококвалифицированными специалистами для проведения исследований и используем современные методы и приборы.

 

Ниже представлен один из примеров нашей работы:

Часть результатов металлографических исследований проб алюминиевых литейных сплавов, взятых после обработки расплавов различными флюсами в заводских условиях на одном из крупных литейных предприятий Украины. Для металлографических исследований был использован оптический микроскоп Carl Zeizz Axiovert 40MAT (Германия) с цифровой регистрацией изображения. Изображение структур сплавов было получено при увеличении 43´ , 215´ и 430´. Пробы сплава АК10М2Н были отобраны после обработки расплава различными рафинирующими флюсами. Сплав плавился в газовой плавильно-отражательной печи. На рис.1. представлены микроструктуры сплавов: 1.1. – обработка солью MnCl, 1.2. – обработка флюсом производства СНГ, 1.3. – обработка флюсом Probat Fluss Al 224 (Германия).
  
Образец 1.1, увеличение 43× Образец 1.2, увеличение 43× Образец 1.3, увеличение 43×
Образец 1.1, увеличение 215× Образец 1.2, увеличение 215× Образец 1.3, увеличение 215×
 

Проведенные исследования четко демонстрируют результаты обработки рафинирующими флюсами различных типов с целью удаления неметаллических включений (черные зоны на изображении микроструктур). Исследования проведены для улучшения технологии очистки расплава с целью снижения брака, улучшения качества механообработки, увеличению прочности и пластичности отливки. Показано, что наибольшей эффективностью отличается флюс Probat Fluss Al 224 (Германия).

Наш опыт и современные методы исследования помогут Вам повысить качество производимой продукции и снизить затраты.

 
Copyright© 1999-2018 г.
ООО "Инженерная компания – САС"

03142, Украина, г. Киев, ул. Семашко 13, оф.105, 106
тел/факс: +38 (044) 424-25-03 / +38 (044) 423-82-99
e-mail: info@sasua.com.ua